Welcome to my little corner of the internet!

Hello there, passing stranger. Please, do come in and make yourself at home. Welcome to my blog: Me, my books, and I.

So, for a while now I have wanted to start a blog. To be perfectly honest, I did start a couple, then abandoned them. I never knew what to write about. Then it hit me. Writing. I should write about writing craft.

Am I an expert on writing craft? Certainly not. But I am learning. And I do feel that what I have learned so far has helped to make me a better writer. So, I wanted to share the things I have learned so that it might help other writers in the way it helped me. Some of these things may seem pretty basic, and obvious, to begin with – and to be honest, they did to me too – but these basic building blocks are so fundamental to a story that we have to fully understand them and appreciate the nuances that go into the craft that is writing.

This blog, therefore, will be primarily for those just starting off, or who feel they need a bit more clarification when it comes to writing craft, though I absolutely welcome the old hats at this game to my little corner of the internet (please help us newbies). There are so many elements and it can be incredibly tricky to strike the right balance of incorporating them all into your story. But fear not! Once I know how to do that myself, I will tell you… Just wait, it could be any day now.

A lot of what I now know, obviously, comes from others. I will indicate what books and blogs have helped me in certain areas, and combine all the ideas and thoughts of different writers and put forth my take on it all. And I will try to piece together the big picture of this craft we call writing.

Ok, I’m going to get real for a moment. Brace yourselves.

Before I started to take all this seriously and read more on writing craft, I was one of those people (we have all been this person at one point or another, I think – don’t lie to me!) who thinks that having a good grasp on English as my native language would be enough to be a writer. I was wrong. So wrong. There are so many components that go into good story-telling, just being able to write relatively well does not cut it. Even if you are able to produce the most beautiful prose known to man, that will not be enough to produce a great story. But that’s ok, because there are plenty of blogs and craft books out there to help us! From what I’ve read, good prose is not as important as a good story – after all, it’s the story that will make the reader the stay.

I hope that at least a few people will find this blog useful. If there are any questions on anything, or even any topics or specific areas that anyone would like me to go over in one of my posts, then don’t hesitate to ask – and I will do my best to give my take on it.

Leave a Reply

